The MIT Laboratory for Manufacturing and Productivity (LMP), established in 1977, is an interdisciplinary organization of faculty and students at MIT with three major goals:

  • the development of the fundamental principles of manufacturing processes, machines, and systems;
  • the application of those principles to the manufacturing enterprise; and
  • the education of students and professionals both on campus and worldwide

Our affiliated faculty and research groups include:

Dr. Brian Anthony; Device Realization Laboratory

Prof. Tonio Buonassisi; Photovoltaics Research Laboratory

Prof. Jung-Hoon Chun

Prof. Martin Culpepper

Prof. Stephen Graves

Prof. Timothy Gutowski; Environmentally Benign Manufacturing

Prof. David Hardt

Prof. John Hart; (Director, LMP and APT), Mechanosynthesis Group

Prof. Sang-Gook Kim; Micro Nano Systems Liboratory

Dr. John Liu; Learning Engineering and Practice Group

Prof. Emanuel Sachs

Prof. Sanjay Sarma; (Vice President for Open Learning)

Prof. Alexander Slocum; Precision Engineering Research Group

Prof. Nam Suh (Emeritus)

Prof. David Trumper

Prof. Kripa Varanasi; Varanasi Research Group

Prof. Kamal Youcef-Toumi; Mechatronics Research Laboratory


For any questions, please contact Prof. John Hart at ajhart@mit.edu

For administrative matters please contact Justin Silva at jsilva25@mit.edu